Getting Organised!

IMG_2462

Life with a baby can leave you with little time for yourself and things can easily get on top of you (hence the gap between blog posts). I’m trying to stay organised, so that when my little one is awake I can spend all most of my time and attention on him instead of being distracted.

When you’re at home all those organisational jobs that need to be done end up staring you in the face and it can be quite very frustrating when you don’t get a chance to sort things out.

Little time savers or ways of organising the home can make a big difference, they can help clear your mind and give you a positive outlook. This week I’m feeling motivated to get organised. I don’t know whether it’s the winter weather or the start of a new year, but its definitely time to channel my inner teacher and get out the charts, spreadsheets and stationery.

There are a few elements of daily life that I’m trying to organise, one being the weekly food plan. It’s become the bane of my life (First world problems, I know!) We get a weekly box of fruit and veg delivered, which changes by season, so we try and plan our meals around that and buy the few extras that we need. Although it takes time to devise a weekly menu and shop for the extras, it saves us spending a small fortune at the corner shop. It also saves me time prepping and making dinner as I know exactly what’s on the menu.

Whilst it will be an ongoing project I have found some planner templates below, which are a good place to start. Pinterest is also a very useful resource bank.

http://blog.worldlabel.com/2012/organizing-planner-the-harmonized-house-project.html

Having somewhere to write the meal plan and then clearly display it, helps me and my husband to know what meals are coming up and what needs preparing. It seems to be working well so far and I’ve even spied friends that have come over checking out the menu to see which night they’d most like to come to dinner!

IMG_2464

At the moment our meal plan is displayed on the pillar in the kitchen using a clipboard, but below are some other interesting ways you could display yours. I’m thinking I might try a magnetic photo frame on the fridge next …

 

 

Source: thenest, carlaaston, vintageglamourous, pinterest

 

Leave a Reply

